Under Construction

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Where Trust Lies by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan

Where Trust Lies by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan 5 of 5 stars.

She loves her friends and students in the West, but family obligations have called her home. Where does she truly belong?

After a year of teaching in the Canadian West, Beth Thatcher returns home to her family. She barely has time to settle in before her mother announces plans for a family holiday--a luxurious steamship tour along the eastern coast of Canada and the United States. Hoping to reconnect with her mother and her sisters, Beth agrees to join them, but she quickly realizes that things have changed since she went away, and renewing their close bond is going to be more challenging than she expected.

There's one special thing to look forward to--letters and telephone calls from Jarrick, the Mountie who has stolen her heart. The distance between them is almost too much to bear. But can she give her heart to Jarrick when it will mean saying goodbye to her family once again--and possibly forever? And will she still want to live in the western wilds after the steamship tour opens up a world of people and places she never imagined?

Then comes a great test of Beth's faith. Someone in her family has trusted the wrong person, and suddenly everything Beth knows and loves is toppled. Torn between her family and her dreams, will Beth finally discover where her heart truly belongs? (Book blurb)

In Where Trust Lies the strength and courage of our Beth Thatcher is put to the test on a family vacation that turns out to be anything but relaxing.

Beth must wrestle with her mother's sometimes pushy opinions about all of her life choices--including Jarrick, who stays in contact with Beth throughout her time back home and on the trip. Not only that, but Beth must also try and be responsible of Julie when her sister begins running wild with unknown people of a lower-class on the cruise ship.

By the time Beth has finally gotten a grip on her emotions where her mother is concerned and possibly learned a great deal about her, the trip takes a tragic turn.  Beth must keep faith when all of her hopes and dreams come crashing down around her.

Where Trust Lies is a beautiful, heartfelt story of life, family, and expectations when those things are in total disaccord. This story is every bit as exciting, romantic, and well-paced as Where Courage Calls. The characters are lush and vivid, reminiscent of the tv presences they are based on, but still with their own uniqueness and more emphasis on their God-centered lives.

Beth's difficult relationship with her mother is one of the focal points of the book, and it is fleshed out very well, creating most of the tension. The maturing of Beth's attitude towards her mother is heartwarming-even when her mother's strong opinions begin to cause Beth to question her faith in Jarrick and the good work she's been doing in the West.

Overall, a fantastic read! Exciting, funny, and as un-put-down-able as anything Janette Oke has ever written. It should be satisfying for fans of the author as well as the Hallmark television show.

To read my review of Book 1 in the Return to the Canadian West series, click here.
*To order Where Trust Lies by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan from Amazon.com, click here.

Season 3 of When Calls the Heart premiers February 21 on Hallmark Channel!

This post contains an affiliate link for Amazon.com.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

09 10